Poetry Reading: Alice Oswald

Friday July 1st, Bowland Auditorium, Berrick Saul Building, 6.30 p.m


can you hear them at all,
                               muted and plucked,
muttering something that can only be expressed as

hitting a series of small bells just under the level of your  
   listening?    —Alice Oswald, Dart, 2002

Alice Oswald is one of the most original and compelling English poets writing today. Her first book, The Thing in the Gap-Stone Stile (1996), received a Forward Poetry Prize for Best First Collection, her second, Dart (2002) won the T.S. Eliot prize for poetry. Oswald’s other collections include Woods, etc. (2005), winner of a Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize; Weeds and Wild Flowers (2009), illustrated by Jessica Greenman; A Sleepwalk on the Severn (2009); and Memorial (2011), a reworking of elegiac material from Homer’s Iliad that won the 2013 Warwick Prize for writing. She has also edited The Thunder Mutters: 101 Poems for the Planet (2006). Her much awaited new collection Falling Awake is published on 7th July.

Free entry. All welcome.

Writers at York-218x96